Chicago Trip, Day 1

So, I just got back from a 3 day trip to Chicago. I ate so much food on vacation! This might be multi-part posting for the week! I’ll just start from day one. I’m not going to really talk about what we did, just what we ate since this is a food blog.

Breakfast: Just regular ole Honey Nut Cheerios and a banana

Snack 1: Ghirardelli Brownie Fudge Sundae – This was a large Ghirardelli brownie loaded with warm Ghirardelli fudge and 2 scoops of ice cream! I had to split this sucker with a friend because it was so intense. But it would definitely fill your sweet tooth! SO good!

Lunch: Hot dog w/ ketchup, mustard, and onions from Wrigley Field (that’s right, I went to a Cub’s game) – This was good, but I don’t think it was a true Chicago-style hot dog. I think I missed out on that one. Looks like I need to go back though! πŸ™‚

Snack 2: McDonald’s Mocha Latte – We went to a 2-story McDonald’s that even had an escalator in it! The upstairs was a coffee/gelato shop. The mocha was priced pretty cheap (especially for Chicago), so I thought it would taste horrible, but I was sincerely impressed with it! Very smooth and full of flavor. Not bitter or burnt-tasting either.

Supper: Chicago-style, Deep-dish Mushroom and Cheese Pizza from Gino’s East – The service sucked, but the pizza made up for the experience! I learned that the sauce is always on top on a true Chicago-style pizza. I think because there is either too much sauce or too much cheese. Either way, it was delicious! I do think there could have been more mushrooms, but that might be because I’m a mushroom freak. I did enjoy the vast amounts of sauce and cheese though. The crust was something I wasn’t used to, however. I didn’t like the edges of the crust. Needless to say, it gets my stamp of approval (the pizza, not the restaurant). We split 2 deep-dish pizzas between 7 ladies. I think we had 1/2 a slice left. It was very filling. No dessert needed! πŸ™‚

I’ll continue with Day 2 tomorrow!

4 responses to “Chicago Trip, Day 1

  1. We had so much good food (especially this day) while we were in Chicago. Did you know you can get the deep-dish pizza sent to you from Chicago (it’s frozen, of course)?

  2. WOW! Did not know that! Awesome!!

  3. Yeah, I mentioned it in front of Blair and now he is insisting we order a few sometime. It’s on their website (I was bored during lunch Tuesday).

  4. I want real Chicago pizza. 😦 Jarred loves Uno’s, which you can get frozen at the commissary on base, but it’s just not the same as freshly baked, of course.

Leave a Reply

