Chicken Parmesan

This is probably my favorite thing to cook and eat! There’s chicken, there’s cheese, there’s pasta. And all the different spices… Ah! I’m craving it now. Luckily, I have leftovers that are lasting me through tomorrow! I made this recipe last Saturday night. My mom, nephew, aunt, uncle, cousin, and boyfriend all came over for a small get-together. My aunt brought her homemade, made from scratch, AMAZING banana pudding. My mom brought a salad and sweet tea. My aunt had heard so much about this meal from my mom and other family members that we scheduled a date a month in advance for them to come up. Enjoy!

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 T olive oil
1 t each of thyme, rosemary, and parsley
salt & pepper
1 1/2 c. of your favorite tomato/marinara sauce
1/2 c. grated mozzarella cheese
16 tbsp. parmesan cheese
8 oz. of your favorite pasta

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees F. (Or as high as it will go.)

To prepare the chicken, butterfly each breast by placing your hand on each and running a knife (carefully) through each horizontally. Set aside.

Next, prepare the herbed olive oil. Combine the teaspoon each of parsley, rosemary, and thyme with the 3 tablespoons of olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

Now, heat a skillet over medium to high heat. Brush each chicken cutlet with the herb oil. Brown the chicken cutlets in the skillet until done, about 2 minutes per side. As they are finished, transfer them to a baking dish (I put mine in my Pampered Chef stoneware!)

When all of the chicken cutlets are done, pour the tomato sauce over them and top them each with the mozzarella cheese, then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Put it in the oven and bake until cheese melts and is slightly golden brown and bubbly, about 3 to 5 minutes.

You can also add to or take away the amount of chicken, sauce, or cheese you use. I doubled the recipe and ended up making WAY too much pasta (but I just didn’t look at what all I was putting in…). If you’re on a low-carb diet, ditch the pasta and serve with steamed broccoli instead.

5 responses to “Chicken Parmesan

  1. Absolutely delicious! I’ve fixed this twice for my family and it has gotten rave reviews each time. By the way, I fixed WAY too much pasta last time I made it too!

  2. And who gave you this wonderful recipe? 😉 Just kidding! This one is making it into our wedding favor mini-cookbook too. It’s simple, easy, and everyone always loves it!

  3. AH! I totally forgot to put that! I had every intention to put that the wonderful and fabulous Sarah first cooked this for me and a group of girls during that awesome summer Bible study!! 🙂

  4. i love, love, LOVE this recipe! one of my favorite “nice” standby dinners. 🙂

  5. I actually made this last night for the fiance and his parents. They loved it, even though they were late for dinner and it was slightly cold. I used fresh mozzarella and it was even better!

Leave a Reply

