Nutella Pie

Hi, everyone. My name is Sarah, and like Kim, I love being in the kitchen. Kim is one of my best friends and maid of honor, a marvelous cook, and she’s been generous enough to allow me to be a contributor to her super fun blog! This is my first entry, and I actually made this for Kim and some of my friends who helped put together invitations for my wedding a couple of weekends ago. I think it was a hit, and I certain I will be making it again!

This super easy and yummy pie recipe was a result of my recent Nutella obsession. For those of you who don’t know what Nutella is, it’s a chocolate hazelnut spread that’s the consistency of peanut butter and it’s the best thing ever. Seriously. Once I tried it, I never looked back. Nutella on bread, crackers, with strawberries, right out of the jar…. Which led me to adapt this recipe originally for peanut butter pie for Nutella. I will be continuing on this journey to create even more Nutella wonders…. I can only imagine the brownies, cookies, cakes that will spring forth from my Nutella craze!

Sarah’s Simple Nutella Pie

Ingredients:
8 ounces Cream Cheese, softened and at room temperature
1 cup Powdered Sugar
1/2 cup + 2 heaping tablespoons Nutella
16 ounces Cool Whip
1 pre-made graham cracker pie crust (or you can use 12 mini graham cracker pie crusts for individual pies, like I did)
Toppings of your choice

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix the cream cheese, powdered sugar, Nutella, and Cool Whip until well blended. (The orginal recipe said to use just 1/2 cup peanut butter, but I added 1/2 cup plus two heaping tablespoons Nutella for a more intense flavor. You may want to start with a 1/2 cup and adjust to taste). Pour into the pre-made pie crust. Next, top the pies however you’d like. I topped mine with a drizzle of melted Nutella (just nuke a couple tablespoons in the microwave in 10 second increments until its melted) and some more whipped cream. You could also try topping with chocolate syrup, chopped hazelnuts, the sky’s the limit! Refrigerate for at least one hour and enjoy.
The pie filling also makes a delicious dip for fruit, graham cracker sticks, etc. Yum!

Thanks for reading!

Sarah
http://frugalandfabulous.wordpress.com

3 responses to “Nutella Pie

  1. This stuff is absolutely AMAZING!! I love Nutella!

  2. Hey, Sarah! Kim goes on and on about how good nutella is but I still haven’t tried it yet.

  3. Tried this twice ,and had some lumps. Try mixing Nutella and cream cheese, first. Then add Cool Whip, then sugar. Then use a mixer just enough to blend well. It reduces the voume of the filling, but it’s still light and fluffy, and much easier to cut once set. Second, try the graham cracker crust from the frozen cheesecake in The Joy of Cheesecake (1.5 cups crumbs, 6 tablespoons butter, 1/4 cup sugar, press into greased springform pan, bake at 350 for 10 minutes and cool). Last, crushed cashews taste great on top of the Nutella drizzle!

Leave a Reply

