Homemade Waffles

I love waffles. I love my waffle maker too! I need to put up pictures of all my favorite appliances! I’ll get to that soon hopefully! Nate came over yesterday before church and I made breakfast. Here’s the recipe I used. I halved the original recipe because I knew we couldn’t eat all those waffles! And the first time I made them a couple of weeks ago, I used Baking Soda instead of Baking Powder (I really thought that’s what I read), and it had a metallic taste to it. So, just don’t try to substitute one for the other FYI!

1 c. all purpose flour
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1 egg
2/3 c. skim milk
1/8 c. vegetable oil

Preheat waffle iron as directed by the manufacturer. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt; mix until well blended. In a small bowl (or I used a coffee cup like my momma did when I was growing up), beat egg slightly and add milk. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. Poor the egg mixture into the well and mix until it is smooth. You make the well so that it is less clumpy. Add the oil and stir (the oil makes it really shiny!). I spray my waffle iron w/ non-stick spray before I pour on my waffle mix so that it comes out without a problem. Pour about 1/2 c. of batter onto a hot iron for a single waffle. Close iron and cook until brown and crisp.

This should make 6 servings. One serving is 1/2 waffle. However, since I was just making it for 2 people and didn’t want to deal w/ leftovers or sit by the waffle iron, I just poured half of this batter on the waffle iron for 2 sets of waffles! You just need to make sure you let it cook a little longer than normal, but not too long. Keep your eye on it!

Each 1/2 waffle (not mine, obviously) is 134 calories and 6 grams of fat. It has 191 mg of sodium, 16 grams of carbs, and 4 grams of protein. You may substitute 2 egg whites or 1 /4 c. egg substitute for 1 egg to lower the cholesterol.

For a variety, you can add pecans, chocolate chips, fresh chopped blueberries, or fresh chopped strawberries before you add the egg mixture.

Serve with your favorite type of syrup!

(pics to come soon)

2 responses to “Homemade Waffles

  1. I will attest, these were delicious, and I can’t wait to try it with chocolate chips and the other add ons.

  2. Pingback: Breakfast « Kim in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

